REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 15, 2017

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on May 15, 2017 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Michael Forsgren, Charlie Blixt, Anne Peterson, Kathy Ouren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, CJ Holl, Barb Ripley, Randi Anderson, Bridgette Holl, Amy Korf, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Cary Haugrud, Karli Kirkwood, Connie Evenson, Abby Johnson, Jenn Hernandez, Moriah Johnson, Trevor Steeves, Derrick Nelson, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda with a correction to the dates of the April meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dr. Ed Richardson presented his report at this time. Students presented information about the yearbook. Amy Korf presented information about Read 180.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve meeting minutes of the April 3, 6-8, 11,17,21 meetings.

Approve payment of the April 30th and May bills

Accept donations:

To elementary Phy. Ed. for archery equipment – Quality Deer Management Assoc. \$500 To Celebration of Cultures – Girl Scout Troop #30102 \$110, Obed & Eleanore Kress \$20 To scholarships in memory of Harold Danielson – Anonymous \$25, Faye Siegle \$20, Paul & Judy Tabbut \$20

To scholarships in memory of Sherwood Anderson – Anonymous \$10

To scholarships in memory of Daryl Frazier – Mike & Sheri Nettestad and Class of 1972

To music scholarship – Brent and JoAnn Frazier \$300

To scholarships – Lions Club of Dent \$1,500

To scholarships in memory of Kenneth Sather – Gary & Kris Dillon \$10

To PRHS choir program – Rodney Smith \$500

To Club Vikes – New York Life/Ben Woessner \$200

Personnel:

Hire Kaitlyn Ganoe as an elementary teacher-3rd grade

Hire Chelsea VanRaden as an elementary teacher-Kindergarten

Hire Cody Schaffer as a HS ALC teacher & JH Football coach

Hire Kathryn Anderson as HS English teacher & all school musical director

Approve summer workers: Sheri O'Brien, Todd Huseby, Sam Waller, Kaleb Tollefson,

Bailey Shulstad, Manda Erickson, Kyle Haugrud, Logan Knorr, summer office worker Approve the agreement with LCSC for Health & Safety Services for fiscal years 2018-2020

Acknowledge receipt of the Notice of Desire to Negotiate from the Pelican Rapids Education Association The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Anne Peterson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

2017-18 RESOLUTION FOR MEMBERSHIP IN THE MINNESOTA STATE HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE

RESOLVED, that the Governing Board of School District Number 548, County of Otter Tail, State of Minnesota delegates the control, supervision and regulation of interscholastic athletic and fine arts events (referred to in MN Statutes, Section 128C.01) to the Minnesota State High School League, and so hereby certifies to the State Commissioner of Education as provided for by Minnesota Statutes.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the high school listed below:

Pelican Rapids High School

Is authorized by this, the Governing Board of said school district or school to:

- 1. Renew its membership in the Minnesota State High School League; and,
- 2. Participate in the approved interschool activities sponsored by said League and its various subdivisions.

FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Governing Board hereby adopts the Constitution, Bylaws, Rules and Regulations of said League and all amendments thereto as the same as are published in the latest edition of the League's *Official Handbook*, on file at the office of the school district or as appears on the League's website, as the minimum standards governing participation in said league-sponsored activities, and that the administration and responsibility for determining student eligibility and for the supervision of such activities are assigned to the official representatives identified by the Governing Board.

Signing the Resolution for Membership affirms that this Governing Board has reviewed the WHY WE PLAY training video which defines the purpose of education-based athletic and activity programs and will assist school communities in communicating a shared-common language as it relates to the value of these said programs.

Member schools must develop and publicize administrative procedures to address eligibility suspensions related to Code of Student Conduct violations for students participating in activity programs by member schools.

The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and the above Resolution was adopted by the Governing Board of this school district and is recorded in the official minutes of said Board and hereby is certified to the State Commissioner of Education as provided for by law.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the graduation list for 2017 as presented. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the final budget revision for 2016-17. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to set a work session for Monday, June 26, at 6:30 pm and to change the regular June board meeting from Monday, June 19 to Tuesday, June 27 at 6:30 pm. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Charlie Blixt, Chair

Michael Forsgren, Clerk